Wait, Uber Can Track Your Location After Your Ride Is Over?!

posted by Emily Lee -

A new update on the Uber app lets the on demand ride service track your location for FIVE minutes after you get dropped off. WTF? Ryan Lizza, a reporter for the New Yorker, tweeted out a screen shot of the alert. "Uber collects your location data from the time of trip request through five minutes after the trip ends, including when the app is in the background," the alert reads. "We do this to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to enhance safety." 

Lizza reports that there is no way to opt out of this location tracking service. The app's informational request to access your location does say you can "turn off location data at any time in your phone's device settings." The problem with that, though, is if you turn off your location settings you won't be able to use the uber service for a ride. Uber uses your location to send cars to pick you up. 

Buzzfeed reports that the only way to use the app if you turn off your location services is to manually enter your location. Unsurprisingly, there has been pretty negative feedback to this new feature. Uber customers don't want the company or their drivers' to be able to track their location after they exit the car. It is pretty creepy, even if they're only using it to collect data. 

Comments

title

Content Goes Here

This ad will close in X seconds.